AGM 2017: Connecting with our stakeholders

July 10, 2017

People’s Law School membership and guests met on June 28 for our 2017 Annual General Meeting, followed by a reception.

The business portion of the meeting saw the election of a new People's Law School board of directors, as well as remarks from Hassan El Masri, board chair and Patricia Byrne, executive director. Mr. El Masri acknowledged the retirement from the board of Joan Letendre, notary public, and thanked her for her 10+ years serving the organization on the board.

Ms. Byrne highlighted the success People’s Law School achieved over the preceding year, including the development and launch of a new website, the creation of new and updated resources in consumer law, wills and estates, and restorative justice, and the development and launch of a new brand for the organization. Drew Jackson, legal content developer for People’s Law School, gave a guided tour of the new website, demonstrating its chief features. Additional information on the organization's accomplishments during 2016-17 can be found in our annual report.

The 2017-18 board for People’s Law School consists of nine members drawn from diverse sectors of the legal community:  

  • Guy Belanger, CPA, CA – treasurer

  • Crant Christoff, First Nations Health Authority

  • Hassan El Masri, W. Masri Notary Corporation – chair

  • Madam Justice Kate Ker, Supreme Court of British Columbia

  • Amandeep Sanghera, Sanghera Sandhar Law Group

  • Cindy Switzer, Fasken Martineau

  • Dean Tate, Somers Poulin Hall – secretary

  • Mara Tessier, Department of Justice Canada – vice chair

  • Vicki Van As, Sterling Notary Public

People’s Law School extends a warm thank you to the board for its work in 2016-17 and congratulates and welcomes the 2017-18 board.

This website explains in a general way the law that applies in British Columbia, Canada. The information is not intended as legal advice. The cases we refer to reflect real experiences, but names have been changed. See our full disclaimer.

Get the latest free info — sign up for our newsletter

Access the email newsletter archive.

Contact us

You can reach us by phone at 604-331-5400. More contact info.

Also from People's Law School

Dial-A-Law: A starting point for information on the law in British Columbia in 190+ topic areas. Available online and by phone.

Unbundled Legal Services: Learn about a new service model for lower-cost legal help. 

Beagle: A chatbot that helps with common legal problems. Look in the bottom right corner :)

Thanks to our funders

Meet our primary funders.

People's Law School logo

We are grateful to work on the unceded traditional territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish) and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations, whose Peoples continue to live on and care for these lands.